Search
All Categories
    Menu Close

    Pan Macmillan

    View as Grid List
    Sort by
    Display per page
    Picture of Bone Sparrow 9781510101555

    Bone Sparrow 9781510101555

    Bone Sparrow - Winner of the CILIP Amnesty Honour 2017. Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017. Perfect for fans of THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home, a special book' - Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed ONCE series Born in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie. Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck, both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence. As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.
    R 189,00
    Picture of Ethan I was Before 9781408342923

    Ethan I was Before 9781408342923

    Ethan I was Before - My dare. My friend. My fault. Uplifting and unpredictable, this poignant debut middle-grade novel is a classic in the making. Perfect for fans of Wonder and A Boy Called Hope. Ethan had been many things. He was always ready for adventure and always willing to accept a dare, especially from his best friend, Kacey. But that was before. Before the accident that took Kacey from him. Before his family moved from the city he loves to a tiny town in the middle of nowhere. Ethan's new home feels like the place for second chances. It's also home to Coralee, a girl with a big personality and even bigger stories. Coralee may be just the friend Ethan needs, except Ethan isn't the only one with secrets. Coralee's are catching up with her, and what she's hiding might be putting both their lives at risk. The Ethan I Was Before is a story of friendship, wonder, adventure and ultimately of hope.
    R 189,00
    Picture of Long Walk To Freedom (Abridged) 9781919762876

    Long Walk To Freedom (Abridged) 9781919762876

    Long Walk To Freedom (Abridged) - \A sensitively abridged edition of the epic life story of Nelson Mandela. Follow his story of hardship, resilience and ultimate triumph from the dramatic years underground and his time in prison to his release in 1991 and being sworn in as the country's first democratically elected president on 10 May 1994.
    R 198,00
    Picture of Seven Letter Word 9781529009200

    Seven Letter Word 9781529009200

    Seven Letter Word - 'My name is Finlay McIntosh. I can see OK, can hear perfectly fine and I can write really, really well. But the thing is, I can't speak. I'm a st-st-st-stutterer. Hilarious, isn't it? It's like the word is there in my mouth, fully formed and then, just as it's ready to leave my lips. POP! It jumps and ricochets and bounces around my gob. Except it isn't funny at all, because there's not a thing I can do about it.' Finlay's mother vanished two years ago. And ever since then his stutter has become almost unbearable. Bullied at school and ignored by his father, the only way to get out the words which are bouncing around in his head is by writing long letters to his ma which he knows she will never read, and by playing Scrabble online. But when Finlay is befriended by an online Scrabble player called Alex, everything changes. Could it be his mother secretly trying to contact him? Or is there something more sinister going on? A Seven-Letter Word is an evocative and heartfelt story from the multi-award-winning author of Smart, Kim Slater.
    R 169,00
    Picture of Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing 9781447262923

    Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing 9781447262923

    Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing - Peter thinks he has the world's biggest problem, his naughty little brother, Fudge. Fudge causes trouble wherever he goes and it's usually up to Peter to sort out the mess. When Peter wins a tiny green turtle called Dribble, he's determined to keep it away from his brother. But when Fudge does get his hands on Dribble disaster strikes! Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing is the first book in the hilariously funny Fudge series from the bestselling author and household name Judy Blume, featuring cover art from picture book star, Emily Gravett. The chaos continues in Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great and Superfudge.
    R 145,00
    Picture of Welcome to Nowhere 9781509840472

    Welcome to Nowhere 9781509840472

    Welcome to Nowhere - Twelve-year-old Omar and his brothers and sisters were born and raised in the beautiful and bustling city of Bosra, Syria. Omar doesn't care about politics - all he wants is to grow up to become a successful businessman who will take the world by storm. But when his clever older brother, Musa, gets mixed up with some young political activists, everything changes. Before long, bombs are falling, people are dying, and Omar and his family have no choice but to flee their home with only what they can carry. Yet no matter how far they run, the shadow of war follows them - until they have no other choice than to attempt the dangerous journey to escape their homeland altogether. But where do you go when you can't go home?
    R 169,00
    Close